The Engineer’s Best Friend

Coming from a lovely family of engineers, naturally, most of my early work experience had to do with engineering documents. Merging into the humanities discipline was rare in my family, but was encouraged by my mother and father who wanted me to pursue my passion. Nevertheless, I loved working on scientific subject matter and all the while learning new things about bearing capacity, slope stability, and foundation analysis.

It seems to me that technical writers and engineers work well together. Engineers write scientific jargon, then turn to the technical writers to decode it for the reading audience.

I enjoy working on engineering documents because it allows me to be exposed to things outside of my field and my educational background. In fact, documents of any discipline are enjoyable to work on and I hope that my technical writing career takes me on more educational journeys.

